Doctor Turner’s Letters

“I wrote to you.”

“Yes,” but a moment of silence had passed between them. In that split second, he took a moment to recount what his letters had held for her. In their previous exchange, he had unknowingly relied on his clinical diagnosis. He was unable to find words of true comfort, for he too was disheartened by her situation. He was scared that if he divulged too much too soon, she wouldn’t be ready to hear it.

He took his time to find his words and wrote out the secrets of his heart to the only other woman that had stolen it. He had patiently waited and now it was his turn to respond.

“I don’t know if I said too much. Or not enough.”

“You said, what was necessary,” clutching the phone tightly. She took her time in finding her words, careful in their exchange. Her decision to leave Saint Anne represented a great deal more to come and was afraid the other occupants would hear their discussion. She had made the decision to follow her heart, to live a life that was different and true to God’s plans for her.

A choice reaffirmed by his letters…


I can’t seem to bear it any longer. I can feel the vacancy you left and I don’t want to be without you. I know this may be selfish, but I had to tell you that I love you.

I would like to tell you not to pick me. I don’t want you to choose between Him and me. Your Lord who was there for you, who gave you a family filled with Sisters and your current life. Then again, if I thought that I wouldn’t be writing to you, which is why I’m telling you to choose me. Please let me love you, let me hold you, and let me make you happy Sister Bernadette.


A/N:

Companion piece to “Living the Wrong Life” and finally added since I decided to put my shorter stories under the category of Tumblr ficlets.

Leave a Reply

